Sunshine Coast locals announced as finalists in leadership awards

2nd September 2016

For the past 27 years, the Australian Institute of Management’s (AIM) prestigious Leadership Excellence Awards (ALEAs) have celebrated inspirational, passionate and talented managers from across the nation. The awards put a spotlight on the individual contributions and achievements of these leaders whilst also encouraging nominees to reflect on their careers and personal development over the past twelve months.

“The AIM Leadership Excellence Awards acknowledge and distinguish management excellence across the nation and represent an exceptional opportunity to recognise some of the innovative and important work being done around Australia,” said AIM CEO, David Pich. “Great managers and leaders make decisions that affect people’s lives every day, so it is essential to recognise and award those who have made a positive impact and support them to become the best leaders they can.”

Since mid May, people from all over Australia have been nominating leaders who have made a positive impact on a community, institution or workplace. From here, those nominated were asked to submit an application to become shortlisted as a category finalist. Each state and territory will see regional and state finalists announced ahead of the ALEAs National final at AIM’s 75th Anniversary Gala Dinner on 19th October.

Today, AIM is excited to announce the local finalists for the Sunshine Coast are as follows:

Award  Category
 Simon Verdouw Community Leader
 Kerry Fullarton Community Leader
 Amy Ratcliffe Emerging Leader
 Tyson Tripcony Emerging Leader
 Kara de Schot Emerging Leader
 Peter Gibson (AIMM) Emerging Leader
 Dr Brenda Jamnik (FAIM) Leader / Manager
 John Orning Leader / Manager
 Paul Wilson Leader / Manager
 Dr Stephen Boyd Leader / Manager
 Elaine Jobson (FAIM) Leader / Manager
 David Dangerfield Not for Profit
 Christopher John Not for Profit
 Stuart Coward Not for Profit
 Tanya O’Shea Not for Profit
 Rebecca Grisman Owner / Entrepreneur
 Roz White Owner / Entrepreneur
 Sally Desch (AIMM) Owner / Entrepreneur
 Mark Wiggins (AIMM) Owner / Entrepreneur
 Natalie Cunningham Charles Rolls
 Charles Rolls Charles Rolls


Sunshine Coast winners will be announced on Thursday, 8th September 2016, at a cocktail evening from 5:45 at Cartwrights Restaurant. Tickets are available for $35 for members and $65 for non-members.
Winners will then move forward to the State Finals on Thursday 6th October, where state winners across all categories will be announced.

For more information about the 2016 AIM ALEAs or to purchase your tickets, visit the website.

– ENDS –

For media enquiries or interviews contact:

Rebecca Clark – Magnum & Co
02 9211 4322 / 0413 187 028

Kate Gabbott – Magnum & Co
02 9211 4322 / 0434 886 678